1 A new adventure? We shall see….

So this is it.  Our maybe the nth it.  That is the first of many fresh starts on a journal describing the adventure of my life.  I say adventure since for me it is exciting, but for you it may just be a bit blase.  Oh well.

So who am I?  I have been trying to figure that out for fifty some years.  As good a place as ever is to tell you where I have been and where I am headed.  On the professional side, I am an amateur Naval Officer.  That is I am a reserve officer on active duty.  Since 2006, I have been on active duty for 4 of the past 5 years and just reported back for two more (presumably the last 2) years.  Being the amateur brings fresh eyes to new problems and some of the times brings a great big “Duh” out of my mouth as I laugh at my own naivete.  When I am not doing that I am a civilian engineer that ended up specializing in building electronic components for computers and communications systems.  More on both of these in some future post. Married (deeply in love), college kids (one even corrupted into gaming), intentionally spoiled dog, brace of cats, one love bird, and a Victorian farm house that is 128 years young.

But how does this relate to Little Men? This blog is called Little Men, since the obsession which most consumes me is the avocation of collecting, painting, and playing with toy soldiers.  In my case, the lads are almost all about 1 inch tall and span the realms of history, fantasy, and science fiction.  Small but courageous, my lads regularly charge incredible odds to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory….

From history (probably an alternate history),  I have large painted collections of 19th/20th century frontier types to play games in the Wild West, pulp China, the Roaring 20s, and the interwar years.  Backing up a thousand years, I also have a large painted collection of Vikings, Saxons, and Normans for wreaking havoc in northern Europe.  In the mostly unpainted side, I possess lots of little men to wage war in the Western Desert of WWII (mostly focusing on the LRDG and their victims), an array of mic-1700s colonial Americans to wage war in the colonies, a small horde of 11th century mid-eastern warriors (with a strong cadre of fantasy Arabs), and a force of Covenanters from the English Civil War.

The great love is Lord of the Ring.   Orcs, trolls, goblins, elves, dwarves, dragons, and mighty men (with mightier woman!) prowl my workshop.  Of course they have to dodge the laser blasts from the Star Wars minions who believe the Empire is still in control.  Added to this is a thirst for hard sci-fi games like Star Grunt II (my favorite) and Hammers Slammers.

So why this blog?  Hopefully it will pull some to our game club in Southern Maryland (Southern Maryland War Gaming Club – smwc1 on yahoo) and some to my Flickr pictures.  I hope for some wows and pretty cools, but mostly hope to get lots of pointers on doing it better and making some friends with equally depraved gamers obsessed with similar ills.

So welcome aboard if you have read this far.  Coming up next is a large Star Wars game for this weekend.  Here is taste of the game:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/9975128@N05/sets/72157626769951827/show/

More to follow!

Jimmy

This entry was posted in Gaming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

